View Full Version : Sx1 F.a.q.


MemphisX
20-03-2004, 12:01 AM
Q:How much user memory does the SX1 has?
A:It has 4MB built in flash memory which 3.5MB are free for the user. It also has a hot swap MMC slot.

Q:How much RAM does the SX1 has?
A:It has 16MB RAM. With a clean system (no 3rd party apps installed) after the start-up/boot you have sth more than 9.5MB of free RAM.

Q:What sound file types are supported by the SX1, and which of them can I use as ringtones?
A:SX1 can play MIDI,WAV and AMR. All of these types can be used as ringtones. It can also play MP3 with the built in 3rd party MP3 player but MP3s cannot be used as ringtones. Some other file types can be played using 3rd party apps like oggplayer (plays ogg files).

Q:Can I play N-Gage games on the SX1?
A:Officially you can't. Although there is an "illegal" way to play some of them on SX1 please do not ask how to do it here.

Q:Where can I find software for my SX1?
A:Search the following sites: www.my-symbian.com , www.handango.com

Q:Where can I find a code/keygen/crack for the "X" app?
A:Please do not discuss anything related to WAREZ here. It is against the rules.

Q:The "X" app doesn't work with my SX1, am I doing sth wrong?
A:Although most of the apps designed for the 7650/3650 work on the SX1 there are few that don't. You can find a list of tested apps here (http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=20348) . It is best though to contact the developer for support on your problem.

Q:Can I use themes on the SX1?
A:Unfortunately you cannot. Themes are only available for series60 ver. 2 (the sx1 has ver 1.2). You can use though 3rd party apps like Smartlauncher,Trigenix etc. to change the look and feel of the phone.

Q: Does the SX1 support SD cards?
A:Although they fit on the card slot and there were rumors that there were some working SD cards on older firmwares, the SX1 does not, officially and unoficially, support SD cards.

Q:Can I record from the radio?
A:No, unfortunately you can't

Q: Can I use a bluetooth heaset to hear Music?
A: Yes and No. It depends. You cannot use a bluetooth headset with the built in radio and MP3 player Applications. But most of the symbian/java games can output sound through it. There are also some MP3 players (like Viking MP3 Player) that also support bluetooth headsets.

Q:My SX1 has a hole on the IrDA.
A:That's normal. It is from design for speaker bass reflex. To understand what it does try to cover the hole when playing an mp3 through the speaker(not the headset)...

Q:My SX1 is too slow when moving/copying files from my computer to MMC/phone memory using the USB cable.
A:This is normal. Although the file transfer speed has been incresed after the firm 06 and more after 07 it is still slow (but still much faster than bluetooth or IrDA). Although this is not a problem when backing up or installing apps if you want to transfer big files it is best to buy an MMC reader. After all they are very cheap.

Q:The X audio app does not give stereo output and the quality is very bad.
A:Although the SX1 gives stereo output through the headset not all the apps makes use of it. Till now the apps that make use of it are:
-Radio (built in)
-Emuzed MP3 Player (built in)
-RealOne Player 3.1 (built in)
-Recorder (built in)
-RealOne Player 4.0
-OggPlay 0.98
-Helix Player 1.0

Q:Using (put your 3rd party file manager here) I have access to 3 more drives as well as some folders that there were not present using the built in File Manager. What are all these and why I cannot Access them using the built in F.M.?
A: The built in File Manager only gives you access to the Phone Memory(drive C) and MMC card(drive E) adn also hides any system folder so that the user cannot harm the phone by accident. By using a 3rd party file Manager u can have access to the firmware (drive Z:containing the OS and drive A:containing all the third party built in apps like the MP3 player, RealOne Player, Typegun, etc) as well as the the Ramdrive (drive D:) and the system folders. From the extra drives you can only modify the Ramdrive. Every file on this drive is deleted after a restart. Also it is advisable not to modify any file in the system folders unless you know what you are doing.

Q:How do I return my SX1 to the factory settings or format the phone memory?
A:You can make a software reset (return the settings to defaults) by typing *#7780#.
If you want to return the phone to it's original state (hard reset), follow these steps.
a.be sure that you have the battery fully charged
b.plug the charger
c.type *#7370# or restart the phone with the # and * keys pressed.
d.If you typed the code the phone will restart and the process will take some minutes formating the phone memory (maybe more than 15). If you restarted having the *,# pressed the the phone will also format the phone memory but you will also have a percentage bar on top of the screen showing the procedure completion.
DON'T DO ANYTHING TO INTERUPT THE WHOLE PROCESS OR YOU MAY END UP WITH A DEAD PHONE
Also you may be asked for a code. In case you haven't changed it, it is 12345.


Q:My phone doesn't boot/turns on. I see the eye screen for a few seconds and then it turns off. It cannot even charge giving me a system error.
A:Try one of these or even combinations of them:
a.Turn on the phone without an MMC.
b.Turn on the phone without the SIM card
c.Turn on the phone with the shift key pressed(the one on the left of the C key with the upside arrow).
d.Try to update/reflash the firmware using the latest selfupdate from www.my-siemens.com .
If none of the above works then you have to format your phone memory by pressing the * and # keys while turning it on, as mentioned above. If still nothing happens then you have to sent it to your nearest Siemens Service Center.


Q:How can I see the IMEI number/firmware version on my phone?
A:Type *#06# to see your IMEI number and press the right soft key to see the CC Monitor screen. This screen contains detailed info like:
a.Production Date -> P.Date: XXXX-XX-XX
b.Firmware Version -> SVN: XX
c.Language Version -> Variant Name: SX1_XXXX-XXXXX-XXXX-XX-XX-XX-XX-XXXX
and many more...


Q:How can I update the firmware in my phone?
A: There are two ways. A.Go to your nearest SSC(Siemens Service Center) and ask them for it. This is the only way to get the latest firmware. B.Go to www.my-siemens.com and download the latest uploaded firmware( be sure to download the correct one - check by typing *#06# and then right softkey,then checkout the "Variant Name" to see which file to download).
*SELF UPDATE INSTRUCTIONS*
a.be sure that your battery is fully charged, and that no other applications are running on your PC
b.turn off your phone
c.Press inside the joystick while turning on the phone
d.By now you'll have a screen on your phone displaying "SX1 Software Update Connect USB cable and start update software on PC."
e.Connect the phone to the PC
f.Execute the downloaded file
g.Windows will ask for a driver. You can find the driver in the folder of the updater(eg. if the updater is c:\downloads\SX1_GREECE-TURKEY-RETAIL-uk-el-tr_06_0001_update.exe then the drivers are in c:\downloads)
h.The firmware update will take some time (about 15 minutes). It is divided into 4 parts. After finishing, the phone will turn off. DON"T DO ANYTHING TO INTERUPT THE WHOLE PROCESS (like unpluging the phone, turning off the phone, shutting down the updater, etc) OR YOU MAY END UP WITH A DEAD PHONE


Q:Can I save my Messages to MMC?
A:Although this was an option on all the other s60 phones Siemens disabled it to SX1 (at least on firm. prior to 08) mainly for MMC swaping reasons. But there is a way to enable it. First download and install MsvDriveE.sis (http://users.otenet.gr/~bobotis/s60tools/MsvDriveE.zip) . After running it once the app will change the drive for saving messages from C to E and copy some files from C:\system\mail to E:\system\mail but not all (you have to copy the rest yourself using a 3rd party File Manager). Any Messages saved to an MMC from another s60 phone will be also readable. Be carefull though not to run the app again because you'll end up with an error message and may the messages stored to MMC be lost. Also do not remove the MMC when the phone is on. To undo the app changes just restart the phone without the MMC. BE WARNED THAT I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY DAMAGE CAUSED BY THIS APP.

Q:I cannot find the X question on your FAQ.
A:It is advisable before making any questions to a.Check the F.A.Q. at www.my-siemens.com b.Search the Allaboutsymbian forum because most of the SX1 specs are identical with the other s60 phones.
Also notice that this F.A.Q. is really in a very early stage. So more Q-A will be added.

arviem
25-03-2004, 09:01 AM
Hi Memphis!

Great FAQ you have here. It help me to know more about my SX1.
Please keep them coming!

Tnx mate!

rv ice

t1m4y
06-10-2004, 08:54 AM
Hey guys, though the siemens sx1 sure isnt small it sure rocks! Was messin about with the wallpapers yesterday and somehow I cant find the orginal wallpaper that I liked. (Its the default one which displays an icon next the keys to represent the shortcuts choosen) I was wondering if any of you guys would know how to get this back.

Cheers
Tim

MemphisX
08-10-2004, 07:09 PM
Hey guys, though the siemens sx1 sure isnt small it sure rocks! Was messin about with the wallpapers yesterday and somehow I cant find the orginal wallpaper that I liked. (Its the default one which displays an icon next the keys to represent the shortcuts choosen) I was wondering if any of you guys would know how to get this back.

Cheers
Tim
The standard wallpaper is in a:\System\data\euro.mbm . You can only access it using a 3rd party file manager (like FExplorer or SeleQ).

In order to replace your current wallpaper with the default copy the a:\System\data\euro.mbm to c:\System\data\ and then rename it to backgroundimage.mbm (you'll need to replace this file so if you have trouble just delete the backroundimage.mbm before renaming the euro.mbm).

leehan8784
19-10-2004, 03:04 PM
I have just change the name of the game folder and it changed into a standard new folder icon. May i know how do i get back to the dice icon? :)

IceHeart
26-12-2004, 08:28 PM
Very thank man because i am recover my phone you write :) :icon14:

And sorry my bad english :frown:

MemphisX
26-12-2004, 08:35 PM
Very thank man because i am recover my phone you write :) :icon14:

And sorry my bad english :frown:

My plaesure helping you.
Just best of luck using your phone.

And by the way
Merry Christmas and Happy new year...

xsachax
26-12-2004, 10:48 PM
when i'm trying to update my phone, it keeps saying theres no phone connected!!
i've checked i'm d/l'n the right software.. did the holding down the navi while switching on thing.. then begun the update.. but then it syas no phone connected and closes. :(

also. when i do the holing down switching on thing, is my phone suposed to switch on after tht msg comes up or not? because it stays off. which I is why it's not being connected to my PC. I think. could be wrong. but still. I'm getting more and more frustrated by the minute! any help will be greatly aprechiated!!!

thanks
sacha
xxxx

MemphisX
27-12-2004, 09:46 PM
when i'm trying to update my phone, it keeps saying theres no phone connected!!
i've checked i'm d/l'n the right software.. did the holding down the navi while switching on thing.. then begun the update.. but then it syas no phone connected and closes. :(

also. when i do the holing down switching on thing, is my phone suposed to switch on after tht msg comes up or not? because it stays off. which I is why it's not being connected to my PC. I think. could be wrong. but still. I'm getting more and more frustrated by the minute! any help will be greatly aprechiated!!!

thanks
sacha
xxxx

I strongly believe that your computer didn't recognize the phone. Just search on the device manager (Right Click on your Computer then Properties->Hardware->Device Manager) and search for any unrecognised device. The phone must be in update mode when you do that. If you'll find one just update the driver and point to the place where the Firmware upgrade is. You can alternative try to connect SX1 in a different USB port and when the PC will prompt for drivers, point to the folder the executable is. In all of the above cases keep the phone on and in Update mode.

amindanial
07-01-2005, 02:58 PM
Dear sir

I bought SX1 a week ago with firmware 14. Then I updated it to 15. Then I tried some software on it last of them an advanced file manager. Now my mobile does not start. When I press power button displays the Logo then white screen then shuts down again. When I connect the charger displays system error. I tried to install the firmware 15 agian and the installation was successful but the problem is the same. I am begging you to help me in the name of God (Jesus). Merry Chrismas and Happy new year.


My email: amindanial@hotmail.com

AlSolh
08-01-2005, 03:35 PM
Hi MemphisX ireaaly need your help here iam new in this forum and i've just read the line about the bluetooth headset music and i've tried viking mp3 player and it didnt work by bluetooth and its making my sx1 restart many times when i go to files just when it searches for mp3s
i need help here, please
thanks...

memarian
08-01-2005, 05:53 PM
Dear sir

I bought SX1 a week ago with firmware 14. Then I updated it to 15. Then I tried some software on it last of them an advanced file manager. Now my mobile does not start. When I press power button displays the Logo then white screen then shuts down again. When I connect the charger displays system error. I tried to install the firmware 15 agian and the installation was successful but the problem is the same. I am begging you to help me in the name of God (Jesus). Merry Chrismas and Happy new year.


My email: amindanial@hotmail.com

Try to Reset your phone by : Turn off phone.Turn on the phone with the # and * keys pressed.

after that reinstall FW15.

prabavijay
12-01-2005, 11:54 AM
Hi MemphisX,

I have a few questions to clear my doubts:-

1) When I purchased SX1 phone, the brochure mention the feature “Aeroplane mode”. After numerous calls to SC, I am yet to find that feature. I don’t know whether I have to create this feature on my own or comes together as an added feature with the phone?

2) After installing the Auto Anti-virus which runs automatically every 6 hours, my phone started to perform slower and before I knew it hangs. Then I sent to SC for repair. SC returned my phone and told me that they have upgraded firmware 15 and deleted the Auto Anti-virus software. However, when I checked my phone *#06#, I noticed SVN : 13. Is this the right way to read the firmware or am I reading the wrong code ?

3 The phone comes with OS Symbian 60, can I upgrade to Symbian 70 or 90. What are the effects to the SX1 phone.? Will it run?

4) The phone comes with preloaded softwares like snapshot, video Realone and etc. Can I delete these files, will this cause any effects to my phone.

5) Can I charge my Battery if the indicator is halfway on the bar or should I wait until the bar goes zero. During normal condition, is it natural to charge daily or every alternate day.

Thanks and Best Regards
Praba.

Asseiças
06-02-2005, 07:12 PM
Hi MemphisX.

Is it possible to format the phone memory totaly and install a new firmware?
I have firmware Iberia v.14 (I´m portuguese), i had version 12 and i updated to 14 in the SSC. I tried to download this version from Siemens site but it´s still not available for Iberia and Spain (even if you try to download version 14, it will come version 12 butt only for iberia in the International site), so i want to putt the international firmware becouse it has newest version 15. Is this possible?

Thank you

MemphisX
13-02-2005, 09:03 PM
Hi MemphisX,

I have a few questions to clear my doubts:-

1) When I purchased SX1 phone, the brochure mention the feature “Aeroplane mode”. After numerous calls to SC, I am yet to find that feature. I don’t know whether I have to create this feature on my own or comes together as an added feature with the phone?

2) After installing the Auto Anti-virus which runs automatically every 6 hours, my phone started to perform slower and before I knew it hangs. Then I sent to SC for repair. SC returned my phone and told me that they have upgraded firmware 15 and deleted the Auto Anti-virus software. However, when I checked my phone *#06#, I noticed SVN : 13. Is this the right way to read the firmware or am I reading the wrong code ?

3 The phone comes with OS Symbian 60, can I upgrade to Symbian 70 or 90. What are the effects to the SX1 phone.? Will it run?

4) The phone comes with preloaded softwares like snapshot, video Realone and etc. Can I delete these files, will this cause any effects to my phone.

5) Can I charge my Battery if the indicator is halfway on the bar or should I wait until the bar goes zero. During normal condition, is it natural to charge daily or every alternate day.

Thanks and Best Regards
Praba.


Sorry for being slow in replying, anyway...

1.SX1 does not have “Aeroplane mode” or "Flight mode". The only way to add this feature is by installing a 3rd party application names Psiloc System Tools (www.psiloc.com). Unfortunately most of the versions I've tested were not working flawlessly with the SX1. Either way you can try the trial version and decide for yourself if it deserves the money.

2.This is the right way to read your firmware version and being more specific this way you get more information including your IMEI the variant of your firmware and so on. If you just want to see the firmware version just type *#0000#. By the way you don't really need any Antivirus Software as long as you know what software you are installing to your phone.

3.The phone is actually powered with Symbian O.S. version 6.1 and Nokia Series 60 U.I. version 1.2 . The purpose of a firmware update is not the same as that of an O.S. upgrade in a computer. A firmware update will fix some bugs a previous version had and may add some more features. A firmware upgrade will not update the O.S. neither the U.I. . The only way to upgrade the O.S. into a newer version is to buy a new phone.

4.All the preloaded software applications are resident to the firmware which is read only. You cannot delete them and even if you could (through firmware modification) you wouldn't earn anything.

5.It is advisable to fully recharge and then fully uncharge/empty the battery the first few times in order for the battery to reach its maximum capacity. If you also keep doing that after the first charging cycles you'll have the maximum battery lifetime. But this is not really neccessary, you can charge the battery whenever you want.

MemphisX
13-02-2005, 09:19 PM
Hi MemphisX.

Is it possible to format the phone memory totaly and install a new firmware?
I have firmware Iberia v.14 (I´m portuguese), i had version 12 and i updated to 14 in the SSC. I tried to download this version from Siemens site but it´s still not available for Iberia and Spain (even if you try to download version 14, it will come version 12 butt only for iberia in the International site), so i want to putt the international firmware becouse it has newest version 15. Is this possible?

Thank you

You'll need to modify the firmware update file you want to aply to your phone with a hex editor so it will seems to be the same variant with the one installed in your phone. I do not really recommend updating into a different variant but if you really want to do this just stay tuned in my Web site. I am going to post a guide on how to do this the following days.

vizi
15-02-2005, 02:52 PM
1. Is anyone else experiencing slowness of SX1 after some time? It works quite fast after format, but after a while it gets slower. It's esepcially noticed when opening SMS and Logs.
How do you deal with it?

2. Does number of contacts slow down the phone? If so, how much is too many?

3. Does "Backup to MMC" backup only settings, or it backs up installed programs as well? In other words, can I make backup, then format phone, then restore backup, and have all programs and settings as if they were before format?

misterrossi
04-03-2005, 02:54 PM
try that out it gives you animations on your mobile
download at www.mobile-pluz.com

enjoy

evobit
07-03-2005, 05:56 AM
Technology compentent people are now able to apply full-screen wallpapers(themes) thanks to a firmware modifcation. However, there is always risk involved, and your warranty will be voided.
More details can be found on www.siemens-mobiles.org.

MemphisX
08-03-2005, 10:54 PM
Technology compentent people are now able to apply full-screen wallpapers(themes) thanks to a firmware modifcation. However, there is always risk involved, and your warranty will be voided.
More details can be found on www.siemens-mobiles.org.

Actually I have done a guide on how to do this in my site a couple of months ago. But www.siemens-mobiles.org do the job almost the same way...

mehdi6737
31-03-2005, 09:18 PM
hi
i cannot recive picture mesege.sx1 can recive picture messege????????? i like to know

thanks

MemphisX
01-04-2005, 08:21 PM
hi
i cannot recive picture mesege.sx1 can recive picture messege????????? i like to know

thanks

I think that you can receive/send monochrome picture messages (OTA files) only if you have a firmware version 7 or below.

I couldn't read the OTA files with versions 10,12 and 13 although I could with 6 & 7.

reddog29
01-06-2005, 06:47 AM
hy!
i also have a strange problem: when i acces the menu, the submenus, whn i turn on the phone, in fact everytime i try to open something, it desplays an "system error" mesage...also, i can't use the letters, only the numbers are still working in an sms...should i format the phone? it has fw 13.

MemphisX
04-06-2005, 11:23 PM
hy!
i also have a strange problem: when i acces the menu, the submenus, whn i turn on the phone, in fact everytime i try to open something, it desplays an "system error" mesage...also, i can't use the letters, only the numbers are still working in an sms...should i format the phone? it has fw 13.

I suspect that you've installed wildskinz. In case this is true you'll have to reinstall the application, dissable it and then uninstall it.

In any other case a format will solve your problem...

reddog29
08-06-2005, 07:42 PM
I suspect that you've installed wildskinz. In case this is true you'll have to reinstall the application, dissable it and then uninstall it.

In any other case a format will solve your problem...

yeah, in the end i formated the phone...
but i have another problem now: when i try to use the wap/gprs/internet, it desplays a message like "GPRS not available" or "no network availabile"...and i realy need to fix this problem cose in 2 days i'll have an exam and i need the wap to write the theory:D

pls help!

krazyk
08-08-2005, 06:40 AM
SX1 is series 60 phone. But while trying to install some apps it says series 60 product ID required. What is series 60 product ID?? can any one help to make my phone compatible???

St0ne
25-08-2005, 08:12 PM
Hi to all SX1 fans.
1st at all , I must Excuse for my bad english (It's not my natural).
I have SX1 from some time, and everything is going fine except one thing....
At this moment I have somewhere 2MB free space on my phone memory, and when I try to install some bigger software more than 1MB, My phones say:
1) Coping to Installer
2) Low memory, delete some data.
My question is, is there some way that the Coping procedure will not COPY the Installation .SIS file on my phone memory? it is stupid, I have 1GB MMC Card, and still I cannot install software bigger then my phone internal memory? :icon13: :icon13: :icon13:
If anyone have solution for this problem, I'll be verry thankful....
10x in advance, I'll search for your replies :)

paganini817
05-09-2005, 11:25 PM
What i should i do if I have forgotten the phone code ?!?
unfortionatly my phone is blocked now

*what is the default phone code ?!
** i have turn on the phone with *# and restarted the phone but still it needs the phone code

I'll be so thanked if u can help me

St0ne
08-09-2005, 12:34 PM
What i should i do if I have forgotten the phone code ?!?
unfortionatly my phone is blocked now

*what is the default phone code ?!
** i have turn on the phone with *# and restarted the phone but still it needs the phone code

I'll be so thanked if u can help me

default is : 12345
good luck

Xqwzts
17-10-2005, 01:10 AM
I had to format my SX1 due to a file system error. The error prevented me from using the SDS message backup facility, so I copied the entire contents of the \system\mail folder onto my MMC. After the format, I restored the folder, but I still do not see any of my messages under my inbox.

mikeman
22-12-2005, 03:57 PM
Hello,
I have a strange Sx1 problem.I've bought 256 Mb MMC card and I;m satisfied besides one thing: when I try to send a file that has ~3Mb the Fileman says that iI have not enough memory and I should delete some thata while i have almost 100Mb free. Can anybody send larger files on sx1?

mikeman
22-12-2005, 08:47 PM
OK,problem fixed with msvdrive program.

Joel Machado
27-12-2006, 04:22 AM
Hello!!

My Sx1 went dead and I need no read the backup I have in my desktop. But I don't know how to do it without the phone.

Do you know how to do it?

Thank You,
Joel Machado

mrn
06-05-2007, 11:08 AM
Hi;
How can i reset (delete all items) my SX1 delivery report list in messages folders?

Thanks

supersath
30-05-2007, 09:31 AM
So many questions with no-one answering them, but I might add to it.

I recently got a SX1 and was going to get a 2GB MultiMedia Flash card, but i'm not sure if it would work on the phone.

Wiill it/:con?

mrn
30-05-2007, 09:39 AM
Hi;
How can i reset (delete all items) my SX1 delivery report list in messages folders?

Thanks

I just had to delete all records in records irem at main menu !

thanks anyway.

MRN