View Full Version : Playing Game Boy Advance Games on N-Gage


yrys83
14-11-2003, 08:31 PM
Does anyone know how to play Game Boy Advance games on the N-Gage?

Thanks

omegaman
14-11-2003, 08:57 PM
I do not believe there is a advance emu out yet. I know one is in the works though!

GhostDog
15-11-2003, 12:41 AM
Really?Who is working on it?

RAF
15-11-2003, 05:34 AM
im guessing GoBoy..i got Goboy 1.4 Best Emu
yall should get it if you dont have

omegaman
15-11-2003, 12:12 PM
Originally posted by RAF
im guessing GoBoy..i got Goboy 1.4 Best Emu
yall should get it if you dont have

Hi Raf,

goboy is awesome but just a gameboy emu not a gameboy advance emu.

SAbz911
15-11-2003, 07:47 PM
I doubt Goboy is workin on it. Just simply because. Itd be by someone independant most likely.

jstn_hntr
16-11-2003, 12:01 AM
So lemme get this right, can you use the N-Gage, like the GamePark??? i.e. download emus and play g.boy, nes etc games on it?

GhostDog
16-11-2003, 01:29 AM
You can run GameBoy,Comodore 64,ZX Spectrum emulators and a few more a guess,but not nes.

audiophile
16-11-2003, 03:45 AM
i doubt it would be able to play advance games only because the processor power isnt enough you'd need at least a 300mhz?? considering the n gage is 106mhz

dont quote me though

RAF
16-11-2003, 04:24 PM
^yes i think your right
im just fine with the gameboy and gameboy color games anyways....it would be cool if it had Snes though!

GoBoy 1.4 Plus(full) (www.no.warez.here.com)

GhostDog
16-11-2003, 04:43 PM
RAF,we don't like warez here,you are banned.

omegaman
16-11-2003, 04:53 PM
Why ban Raf? He has done nothing wrong... posting a link is not spreading software and also not making people download it. It is just posting a link!! slow down with the banning already....

huho am I banned now???

SAbz911
16-11-2003, 06:19 PM
He's also posted a link on another thread that had had connections with Warez so i can understand why hes been banned.

omegaman
16-11-2003, 09:09 PM
Oh Man! He posted a link to a site that had a link to warez... The evil do-er.. Banned for life I am sure!

Come on guys loosen up a bit.. I liked Raf... He had a fresh and helpful way about him!

yrys83
16-11-2003, 11:05 PM
Yeah, give the guy another chance!

yrys83
16-11-2003, 11:07 PM
So you guys are basically saying that we'll never be able to play Game Boy Advance Games on the N-Gage because the N-Gage isn't powerfull enough?

SAbz911
16-11-2003, 11:28 PM
Not exactly. You might never be able to play GBA games because no one will create the app for it.
Even thou someone suggested that the processor might not handle the games i still reckon someone will find a way. Just if anyone can be bothered.

yrys83
16-11-2003, 11:37 PM
That's a damn shame!

GhostDog
17-11-2003, 01:24 PM
The GBA has a 32 bit ARM7 CPU locked at 16.7 Mhz(correct me if i'm wrong).The N-Gage has a 32 bit ARM9 CPU locked at 104 Mhz.The GBA also might have a second RISC CPU but i still think N-Gage's hardware is strong enough to emulate GBA games.BTW:The Communicator with its 52Mhz CPU runs a mame port with no problems.

omegamen,RAF broke the rules thus he was banned.It doesn't matter if he posted a link to a website that contains warez or a genuine warezed application.Rules are rules,you agree to respect them when you joined this forum.BTW:He posted a direct link to a warez applicaton.

If you have a problem with my moderating style you can send a complaint to some of the Administrators of this forum.If you have a problem with the forum rules,feel free to leave.

MemphisX
18-11-2003, 09:26 PM
Originally posted by GhostDog
The GBA has a 32 bit ARM7 CPU locked at 16.7 Mhz(correct me if i'm wrong).The N-Gage has a 32 bit ARM9 CPU locked at 104 Mhz.The GBA also might have a second RISC CPU but i still think N-Gage's hardware is strong enough to emulate GBA games.BTW:The Communicator with its 52Mhz CPU runs a mame port with no problems.



You are right, Ghostdog. Game Boy Advance (SP) uses 2cpus.A 16 MHz 32-bit RISC-CPU & an z80 8-bit CISC-CPU. I believe that the second one (the z80) is for compatibility with the old Game Boy (Color or not) games, because Game Boy color uses the same CPU.

Unfortunately the Game Boy Advance hardware is hard to be emulated on N-Gage the standard way (interpreting commands).
I don't know if there is any compatibility between the two CPUs (they are both ARM). If there is then there is hope but if there is no compatibility, I don't think we will ever see a GBA emulator. The other not standard way that became famous especially with very powerfull devices (it started with PSone And N64) is the High level emulation, wich unfortunately needs a fast FPU,and there is no such unit on N-Gage, not to mention that there is no HLE for the Game Boy Advance.

And about the Mame emulator. Most of the Past arcades where using z80 CPUs. The Z80 has quite an open architecture,and also not so powerfull(Game Boy/Color uses one). So these arcades are not hard to be emulated and because of the very low specs emulation can be also done on not so strong devices...

But, anyway let's not loose hope...

GhostDog
19-11-2003, 12:19 PM
Nice post,thanks MemphisX!

sexybeast
19-11-2003, 12:28 PM
Originally posted by omegaman
Oh Man! He posted a link to a site that had a link to warez... The evil do-er.. Banned for life I am sure!

Come on guys loosen up a bit.. I liked Raf... He had a fresh and helpful way about him!

fresh and helpful way??? dude, he had 4 posts

hliasp69
20-11-2003, 02:51 PM
Does this mame port work for the Ngage, too???
Wher can I find it if it does?

drager
20-11-2003, 06:07 PM
as mentioned in some other threads, games can run but these is no mame for n-gage... and i don`t know if there is one work in progress...

omegaman
20-11-2003, 09:27 PM
I do not believe that the advance has yet to be emulated..

Rasta_Provo
08-08-2004, 07:46 PM
i have go-boy on my n-gage with 2 ROMs but i don't know how to play them. when it loads up, if you click options, all it says is:

play
help
exit

Can someone tell me how to play them

Dazler
08-08-2004, 11:49 PM
i have go-boy on my n-gage with 2 ROMs but i don't know how to play them. when it loads up, if you click options, all it says is:

play
help
exit

Can someone tell me how to play them
press play??

Ismail
09-08-2004, 02:48 AM
loooooooooooooool

anyway back to the main subject
shoould raf have been banned
i vote yes

Jess
09-08-2004, 06:28 AM
You can run GameBoy,Comodore 64,ZX Spectrum emulators and a few more a guess,but not nes.

Yep it can emulate NES...

Otherway, i don't think that the "Yewnes" app that i see in my N-Gage could be an effect of my immagination. :D

Bytes.

CybaCowboy
09-08-2004, 06:59 AM
Wirelessly posted (Nokia N-Gage: NokiaN-GageQD/1.0 SymbianOS/6.1 Series60/1.2 Profile/MIDP-1.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.0)

It should be quite obvious that the N-Gage/N-Gage QD has the power to run Game Boy Advance games... Take Tony Hawk's Pro Skater for example, it's the same game on both platforms, yet the N-Gage version's graphics and sound are 10 times better than the Game Boy Advance's version (almost PlayStation quality)!

CybaCowboy
09-08-2004, 07:19 AM
Wirelessly posted (Nokia N-Gage: NokiaN-GageQD/1.0 SymbianOS/6.1 Series60/1.2 Profile/MIDP-1.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.0)

The following emulators are available for the N-Gage: micro-EMame (a Mame emulator), Frodo (a Commodore 64 emulator), Spectrian (a Sinclair ZX Spectrum emulator), PicoDrive (a Sega Genesis/Mega Drive emulator), Goboy (a Nintendo Game Boy emulator), Goboy+ (a Nintendo Game Boy emulator with sound support), ZXBoy (a Sinclair Spectrum 48k/128k emulator), GamePhone (a Nintendo Game Boy emulator), EMame (a Mame emulator) and YewNes (a Nintendo Famicon/Entertainment System emulator). More information can be found on My Symbian at http://wap.my-symbian.com/7650/download/index_wap.php?Category=20#news

CybaCowboy
09-08-2004, 07:20 AM
Wirelessly posted (Nokia N-Gage: NokiaN-GageQD/1.0 SymbianOS/6.1 Series60/1.2 Profile/MIDP-1.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.0)

Keep in mind that the downloading, distribution and use of an emulator may or may not be illegal (it depends on a number of factors)... So purchase and/or download these emulators at your own risk! For a number of reasons (namely my firm stance against illegal emulation and pirated software), I won't be posting any links to or recommending any sites with ROMs on them; if you wanna dabble in emulation, you're on your own!