View Full Version : 7650 vs 6600


Miro
27-10-2003, 07:41 PM
Finally I have N6600. It is final sales version V3.42.1
I will post some photos and my opinion. on the phone.
The display is beter than N7650, but the system is much slower than 7650( V4.46)
The look and feel of the phone is great, but the camera is worse than 7650.

Miro
27-10-2003, 07:42 PM
7650

Miro
27-10-2003, 07:43 PM
6600night

Miro
27-10-2003, 07:43 PM
7650night

Miro
27-10-2003, 07:45 PM
6600-2

Miro
27-10-2003, 07:47 PM
7650-2

Miro
27-10-2003, 07:49 PM
some clips taken with 6600

Miro
27-10-2003, 07:50 PM
and another one

Miro
27-10-2003, 07:56 PM
some applications are running without problem on 6600:torch, e profiles, ringtone studio, stacker, remind me, seleq,handy car( all installed on MMC), photographer, pocket counter are running only on phone memmory.Acttive desk is not running on 6600. There are problems with some wap pages:-they cannot be opened.
There is no difference in polifony-the midi files sound the same.
I will post some more details later.

RoYaL21
27-10-2003, 08:05 PM
can you post a picture of your 6600? I'd like to see some menu screenshots, can you show some? :cool:

RoYaL21
27-10-2003, 08:06 PM
where did you buy it, in a store or via internet?

Miro
27-10-2003, 08:09 PM
screenshot

Miro
27-10-2003, 08:13 PM
more screenshots

Miro
27-10-2003, 08:16 PM
6600

Miro
27-10-2003, 08:22 PM
more

Miro
27-10-2003, 08:23 PM
and more

RoYaL21
27-10-2003, 08:47 PM
wow, thanks for the screenshots. So how do you like the phone? Is it what you you expected? :cool: One more, what is that Kodak Pictures icon for?

Al3xandr3
27-10-2003, 11:38 PM
It's an agreement between nokia and kodak to print phone pictures and to upload some pics to the net also, through kodak. it's explained in the nokia's press release pages!

RoYaL21
28-10-2003, 06:59 AM
Originally posted by Al3xandr3
it's explained in the nokia's press release pages!

Excuse me for not reading the press release :rolleyes:
Thnx for the info anyway.

Miro
28-10-2003, 02:47 PM
the out side photos are better with 6600
7650

Miro
28-10-2003, 02:48 PM
6600

RobP
29-10-2003, 11:35 AM
Far better focus at the edges!

nln
29-10-2003, 01:51 PM
More pictures please :):p

orange
29-10-2003, 02:39 PM
Here's one screenshot:

http://community.webshots.com/s/image3/0/45/31/97204531meHXJp_ph.jpg

Eulogy
29-10-2003, 07:05 PM
Hey man!
Do you know where to get themes for this amazing phone? Or is it not possible to install themes?

Al3xandr3
29-10-2003, 07:43 PM
Yes it is possible to install new themes.

Eulogy
29-10-2003, 08:59 PM
Do you know where to get themes? My 6600 will arrive tomorrow.

Al3xandr3
29-10-2003, 09:30 PM
No I don't. I think forum nokia hasn't released the tool kit to do themes, but i'm not sure about it.

john74
02-11-2003, 01:08 AM
i to saw that the photos outdoors are much better than the 7650,the indoor night shots on mine are the same as the 7650,for a phone that came out 1.2 years after the 7650 they should have improved the camera at least,i got to admit the video playback is EXCELLENT on large setting option

thegreatwann
02-11-2003, 01:56 AM
Umm the night picture of the 7650 is better than the 6600..

should i be pissed?

braindoc
02-11-2003, 06:51 AM
Originally posted by Miro
some applications are running without problem on 6600:torch, e profiles, ringtone studio, stacker, remind me, seleq,handy car( all installed on MMC), photographer, pocket counter are running only on phone memmory.Acttive desk is not running on 6600. There are problems with some wap pages:-they cannot be opened.
There is no difference in polifony-the midi files sound the same.
I will post some more details later.

What is the version of Photographer that is bundled with the phone? I don't have the try and buy software included in my phone (I also checked the MMC and the programs are not there). Maybe my phone is a pre-release unit...I bought the Photographer software from Handango and installed it in my 6600 but it doesn't work. Maybe you can send me the .sis file of the try and buy softwares...please????

Miro
02-11-2003, 06:56 PM
photographer 2.0 , but you have to installl it on phone's memory

machtoners
02-11-2003, 08:32 PM
Does the 6600 has a better speaker than the 7650? Sometimes, I can't hear the ring if my 7650 is kept in my jeans pocket. Also has someone tried the speed of 6600 installing apps like spacedoubler & slauncher? I find my 7650 to be noticably slow while opening zipped apps and also the menu after installing slauncher.

emvey
02-11-2003, 10:04 PM
What if you buy the phone through "ebay"??
There says it is 465$ if you buy instantly..Can i trust it ?

MDR
03-11-2003, 02:16 AM
Originally posted by machtoners
Does the 6600 has a better speaker than the 7650? Sometimes, I can't hear the ring if my 7650 is kept in my jeans pocket. Also has someone tried the speed of 6600 installing apps like spacedoubler & slauncher? I find my 7650 to be noticably slow while opening zipped apps and also the menu after installing slauncher. speaker is not on top compared to the 76. it's at the back like the 36. so, if its in your jeans, you also won't quite hear it, UNLESS, you reeally have a loud .wav or .amr installed. just enable the vibratre.

its speed is the same as the 76 & 36 when launching apps

nln
03-11-2003, 06:21 AM
Does PSILOC IR remote works with 6600 ?

MDR
03-11-2003, 07:04 AM
Originally posted by nln
Does PSILOC IR remote works with 6600 ? yes

deathmonger
03-11-2003, 08:15 AM
I think we shouldn't be bothering about software compatibilities. I'm kind of possitive about the fact that in a very short time all applications will be releasing new versions, compatible with Symbian 7.0

And by the way, looks like the pictures taken with the 6600 are far better than the ones taken with the 7650.(in the edges I mean).

MDR
03-11-2003, 02:21 PM
Originally posted by deathmonger
And by the way, looks like the pictures taken with the 6600 are far better than the ones taken with the 7650.(in the edges I mean). yes... far better... especially if you use the timer. one negative aspect is that the shutter has 1 sec lag

machtoners
12-11-2003, 05:46 AM
Originally posted by MDR
speaker is not on top compared to the 76. it's at the back like the 36. so, if its in your jeans, you also won't quite hear it, UNLESS, you reeally have a loud .wav or .amr installed. just enable the vibratre.

its speed is the same as the 76 & 36 when launching apps

Sorry to say, But the 3650 is slower than the 7650- atleast launching apps due to memory (RAM) i guess. How much Ram does the 6600 have? Is it better than 7650?

GhostDog
12-11-2003, 11:39 AM
Both the 7650/3650 have 8 MB of RAM,after bootup the 3650 has less free,that's why it might be slower.The 6600 has 16 MB of RAM,i don't know the ammount of free RAM after bootup.

lovesign
04-01-2004, 06:59 PM
Originally posted by GhostDog
Both the 7650/3650 have 8 MB of RAM,after bootup the 3650 has less free,that's why it might be slower.The 6600 has 16 MB of RAM,i don't know the ammount of free RAM after bootup.

Just thought I'd clear this up....

3650 has 3.4MB Built in Memory
7650 has 3.6MB Built in Memory
6600 has 6MB Built in Memory

Both 3650 and 6600 have MMC memory card capability, therefore allowing up to 128MB extra memory.

The 6600 will allow installation of apps to the MMC card but the 3650 does not, to the best of my knowledge.

Rob.

GhostDog
04-01-2004, 07:33 PM
Just thought I'd clear this up....

3650 has 3.4MB Built in Memory
7650 has 3.6MB Built in Memory
6600 has 6MB Built in Memory

Both 3650 and 6600 have MMC memory card capability, therefore allowing up to 128MB extra memory.

The 6600 will allow installation of apps to the MMC card but the 3650 does not, to the best of my knowledge.

Rob.

Rob,i don't mean to be rude but you didn't clear anything up ;)

I was talking about RAM not storage memory.

Both the 3650 and the 6600 can go up to 512 MB.

The 3650 can install apps on the MMC just as any other Series 60 smartphone can,infact it can install more applications then the 6600 ;)

Furi0uS
04-01-2004, 07:48 PM
Miro.. I think you might be a little unlucky with the camera on your 6600.. cause the camera on mine perfomes 10 times better than on my 7600 and 3650.. here are some pics.. First a Night pic Captured in complete darkness. only lights where the small night lights above the doors.. and the brightness from the moon.

here is the pic:

Furi0uS
04-01-2004, 07:49 PM
Here is a pic I captured today around 2PM

Outside:

Furi0uS
04-01-2004, 07:50 PM
Inside. Medium Bright light in the room,

GhostDog
04-01-2004, 07:52 PM
Ten times better?!?Then i guess the 6600 has a 3 megapixel camera :D

lovesign
04-01-2004, 10:14 PM
Originally posted by GhostDog
Rob,i don't mean to be rude but you didn't clear anything up ;)

I was talking about RAM not storage memory.

Both the 3650 and the 6600 can go up to 512 MB.

The 3650 can install apps on the MMC just as any other Series 60 smartphone can,infact it can install more applications then the 6600 ;)

Point taken GhostDog, but the 7650 definitely only had 3.6MB of memory, that's for sure, otherwise I'd still be using it today :)

I read in a post on the 7650 forum some while back that you could not install and run apps from the MMC on the 3650, but if I'm mistaken, I apologise.

Finally, Nokia only recommend up to 128MB on the 6600 (Don't know about the 3650) but I know others have successfully used 256, but I have heard no confirmed reports of people using 512MB MMC cards. The only reason I mention this is I wouldn't want anyone reading that they can safely use 512MB cards and then have their phone go wrong because of it and then having no recourse with Nokia because of breach of warranty.

And you weren't being rude at all
:)
If I'm wrong, please tell me so....it's thru threads like this that we arrive at a solution to many peoples problems ;)

Rob.

Sämi
05-01-2004, 12:30 AM
Originally posted by GhostDog
Both the 7650/3650 have 8 MB of RAM,after bootup the 3650 has less free,that's why it might be slower.The 6600 has 16 MB of RAM,i don't know the ammount of free RAM after bootup.

It have 10 mb. after boot up.

8Depents on theme, u installed, it can be 500 kb. less.

GhostDog
05-01-2004, 01:00 AM
Originally posted by lovesign
Point taken GhostDog, but the 7650 definitely only had 3.6MB of memory, that's for sure, otherwise I'd still be using it today :)

I read in a post on the 7650 forum some while back that you could not install and run apps from the MMC on the 3650, but if I'm mistaken, I apologise.

Finally, Nokia only recommend up to 128MB on the 6600 (Don't know about the 3650) but I know others have successfully used 256, but I have heard no confirmed reports of people using 512MB MMC cards. The only reason I mention this is I wouldn't want anyone reading that they can safely use 512MB cards and then have their phone go wrong because of it and then having no recourse with Nokia because of breach of warranty.

And you weren't being rude at all
:)
If I'm wrong, please tell me so....it's thru threads like this that we arrive at a solution to many peoples problems ;)

Rob.

No problem Rob.

The 3650 can definitely install and run apps from MMC.

Specific brands of 256 and 512 MB MMC's like the ones from TEC are known to be tested and working.

-Edit-

I forgot about this but the 7650 and the N-Gage have 4MB of phone storage memory.