View Full Version : Flashing A920 to A925 -> Enabling BT and IrDA :)


Tsunami_Hiroshima
16-10-2003, 10:13 PM
Breaking news for every A920 owner......

Looks like we can finally enable Bluetooth and InfraRed on our A920's (Should have been enabled to start with).

Special thanks to PoleCat for sussing this one out, be warned though as a special bonus you will no longer be able to access 3's services, read the full thread and how-to Url removed.

Still very much work in progress but it's still a good sign :)

-GhostDog edit-

Sorry guys,i know the news are great,saw this yesterday myself but for now AAS is not alowing links to procedures which discuss the process of bypassing Three's "walled garden" approach.

stryker
16-10-2003, 10:22 PM
Yeah, the number one fact it prooves is the A925 firmware runs just fine on the A920. Meaning as newer A925 firmware hits the street that addresses the 3G issue the A920's can be updated with that.

Yes there have been a few chaps involved in this ground breaking and superb work, thanks to them all I say.

Tsunami_Hiroshima
16-10-2003, 10:42 PM
Originally posted by stryker
Yeah, the number one fact it prooves is the A925 firmware runs just fine on the A920. Meaning as newer A925 firmware hits the street that addresses the 3G issue the A920's can be updated with that.

Yes there have been a few chaps involved in this ground breaking and superb work, thanks to them all I say.

It's a good sign, and it couldn't have come at a better time, all of this 'walled garden' and feeling that the A920 was rushed almost had me taking it back tomorrow!

Now if only the 3 access, GPRS, BT, IrDa and Full Web access (inc. pop3 through ISP dialup) all worked with the A925 image we would all have a pretty sweet package.

I still feel a bit dubious about flashing the A920 right now, would really like to take an image of my A920 flash rom first.

Another concern is the fact that the Desktop Suite doesn't work with the new A925 image, would hate to have to retype 200+ contacts plus replacing all images, ouch!

Gonna keep an eye on the threads for sure, keep up the great work everyone that's involved.

It will be interesting to see a comparison of the two flash files, maybe reverse engineering will be possible and we could make up our own images of the original A920 flash but with BT etc enabled ;)

GhostDog
17-10-2003, 11:02 AM
Once again,sorry guys.Here are the images PoleCat posted.

http://www.evesnik.com.mk/sliki/a920/1.jpg http://www.evesnik.com.mk/sliki/a920/2.jpg http://www.evesnik.com.mk/sliki/a920/3.jpg http://www.evesnik.com.mk/sliki/a920/4.jpg http://www.evesnik.com.mk/sliki/a920/5.jpg http://www.evesnik.com.mk/sliki/a920/6.jpg

marconi72
02-11-2003, 02:21 PM
where can i get the a925 firmware.

thanks
marconi72

dgardel
04-11-2003, 01:02 PM
Could you post me the URL?

Thanks

Daniele

Please reply to:

e-mail removed

B]-GhostDog edit-

Sorry Daniele,like i said,not allowed.[ [/B]

GhostDog
04-11-2003, 01:45 PM
Sorry guys,untill Moto or Three make the firmware public its not allowed to post any links to download locations of the firmware.