View Full Version : Unlocking


10-09-2003, 11:34 AM
If it takes tech knowhow to unlock a920 would an amateur be better off with a P800

james_preedy
10-09-2003, 11:41 AM
Depends on your definition of unlocking! You cant unlock a 920 to stick other networks sims in.

If you mean to get the bluetooth, ir, data services and email going then no it wont take being a g33k but it may take some time. The 920 is a superior piece of kit to the P800, but its not there yet ...

In terms of ease of use, both phones are identical - the operating system is identical.

To surmise, at the moment a P800 on say Orange is a better option. However, when 3 get sorted then we'll see the gap close very very quickly ...

James

10-09-2003, 11:51 AM
Thanks so if i look more long term would the a920 be better

venomiser
18-09-2003, 03:08 PM
Hey guys just thought I would mention you can actually Unlock your A920 to accept other networks Sims in it.

I am in the UK and My A920 is unlocked and can use my Orange Sim in there no problem. If you put in **057* It will ask you for the personalisation lock code. See the addy below for how to get that code.

See www.dvds2000.co.uk and remote unlocking for howto.

Hope that helps. Obviously still looking for the Holy Grail of application unlocking but we live in hope ;)

18-09-2003, 07:31 PM
Thanks venomiser all additional info always welcome

19-09-2003, 10:46 PM
Thanks venomiser, but the http://premierdns1.co.uk/~talkinghoruk/329/remote.html url doesn't have any options to un lock the A920, does it??

It says 'This service also unlocks the A830 on '3'', but nothing about the A920.

Also have you managed to get GPRS and MMS working throuhg Orange??

Cheers for the info!

Scarfman

20-09-2003, 01:04 PM
What about O2? Would it work with an O2 sim?

venomiser
22-09-2003, 04:12 PM
No it doesnt say that it unlocks the A920 but they can. I emailed them first and asked. They said they could. I then emailed my IMEI number payed my cash and within a couple hours they sent the unlock info.

Ive just recently got my GPRS turned onto my orange account not played around with that much. Still experimenting.

dalek
22-09-2003, 05:59 PM
Same here, paid the tenner, got the code, result! Unlocked A920 that takes my O2 sim with no worries at all.

lectrosoul
29-09-2003, 03:39 AM
well im looking to see if this phone can be unlocked from the 3 network and i contacted that website mentioned above about 4 days ago and i have heard nothing back, is there anyone else doing it (unlocking a920) and could someone tell me what would be different in unlocking this phone as regards a So called Normail Mobile phone
thankx

lectrosoul
01-10-2003, 07:41 PM
i have searched everywhere for info on sim unlocking this A920 but have found conflicting info some say you can, some say you cant, which is it? as that website above has not got back to me and its a week now, no disrespect tou the posters above but i think that site is a bit dubious??
correct me if im wrong
just looking for some solid info
thanks

(Network lock)

Unregistered11
07-10-2003, 01:54 PM
The 3 UK site's pricelist contains a figure for handset unlocking 15

lectrosoul
07-10-2003, 09:31 PM
could ya provide a direct link to that cant find it? (prob under my nose!!?)

and would someone go to the Trading section of the site and see if they can help me out with my request!!
thanks

pablo_max
10-10-2003, 11:08 PM
I can tell you all this..all the 920s can be unlocked. period.
they all have the same basebands all the same AB/BP builds. The only difference is the shell software.
BT and IR work on all these phones. In fact you can get it working if you can get a really od version of software. your battery will be about 20 min but you can do it.
you can run apps off your mem card as well. just browse the card and click on the file. easy. must be unlocked though.

Royalflyer
31-05-2004, 03:50 PM
Same here, paid the tenner, got the code, result! Unlocked A920 that takes my O2 sim with no worries at all.

Can you pass me on the link please...